GA4 Analytics


Pub. 12 2023 Issue 1

2023 BLOK Class Announcement

This story appears in he
The Kansas Banker Pub 12 2023 Issue 1

Now in its seventeenth year, the Bank Leaders of Kansas (BLOK) Program is a leadership development program coordinated by the Kansas Bankers Association. The BLOK program is designed to improve the leadership skills of Kansas bankers and it accomplishes that goal through four primary objectives:

  • To increase the individual banker’s understanding and knowledge of the structure and governance of the KBA, including a complete overview of programs, services, and representation provided by the KBA
  • To improve the individual banker’s understanding of the state and federal legislative process and increase their willingness to actively support and defend the Kansas banking industry
  • To increase the individual banker’s understanding and awareness of the various state and federal agencies that govern the banking industry in Kansas and how those agencies interact with the KBA
  • To improve the individual banker’s leadership and communication skills through professional development and leadership training sessions and to provide a clear understanding of the individual banker’s role as a volunteer KBA leader

This year’s class will include a wide range of banking industry talent from across the state. Twenty-one Kansas bankers will participate in four BLOK training sessions that will arm them with the knowledge and information needed to be credible and effective advocates for the Kansas banking industry. The first session is scheduled for Feb. 7-9 and will center on the 2023 Harold A. Stones Government Relations Conference in Topeka.

2023 BLOK Sponsors

  • Bankers’ Bank of Kansas
  • INTRUST Bank, N.A.
  • KBA Insurance, Inc.
  • Professional Bank Consultants, LLC

Members of the 2023 BLOK Class

Amy Barber
Trust Fiduciary & Compliance Manager
Central National Bank, Topeka

Crystal Boyer
Treasury Banking Analyst
First Interstate Bank, Shawnee

Kelsey Burdiek
Assistant Vice President
United Bank & Trust, Seneca

Jen Cocking
Vice President, Assistant General Counsel
Capitol Federal Savings Bank, Topeka

Dena Flach
Vice President/Loan Officer
Stockgrowers State Bank, Maple Hill

Alex Goodpaster
Vice President, Commercial Lending
Equity Bank, Overland Park

Mike Hamilton
Executive Vice President, Ag Banking
Adams Bank & Trust, Colby

Victoria Hamilton
Officer & Financial Center Manager
First National Bank of Hutchinson, Hutchinson

Kristie Henry
Community National Bank, Seneca

Dustin Hickel
Managing Director
Commercial Real Estate Lending
INTRUST Bank, Prairie Village

Brett Hubka
Community Bank President
GNBank, Clay Center

Sarah Keeny Moon
Accounting Analyst
Citizens Bank of Kansas, Derby

Carl Keith
Regional President
Solutions North Bank, Hill City

Garet King
Vice President
Fusion Bank, Overland Park

Matt Koupal
SVP, Chief Legal and Ethics Officer Corporate Secretary
FHLBank Topeka, Topeka

James Leftwich
Sales Representative
Security 1st Title, LLC, Wichita

Katrina Loader
SVP Chief Retail Officer & BSA Officer
Astra Bank, Abilene

Rex Reynolds
Executive Vice President
Legacy Bank, Wichita

Elizabeth Roche
SVP, Employee Benefits
Kansas Bankers Association, Topeka

Justin Sparks
EVP, Chief Credit Officer
Bankers’ Bank of Kansas, Wichita

Adeel Syed
AVP, Staff Attorney
Kansas Bankers Association, Topeka